Chakra 101: Knowing our Energy Centers

In the next few posts, I will be writing on our energy centers – what we usually call “chakras”. This is an esoteric topic which is usually not accessible by many. I hope to make the topic as easily understood as possible to all who are interested. In subsequent posts, I will also share how we can bring them back into a state of harmony through Yoga asanas and the use of essential oils.

Ancient drawings

On the physical level, our chakras correspond to major nerve centers in our body. If we refer to the ancient hindu drawing as shown, we can see that there are multiple regions whereby there are high degree of nervous activity (the darken regions). The seven chakras that we are familiar with, are just seven of the many nervous centers along the middle of our body. Not only are the seven centers closely linked to the main nervous system, they also correspond to the glands in the endocrine system.

We live today as a sum total of all our past experiences (in this life or past lives). Our life at present, determined by our actions past and present, will affect our life in the future. The content of our chakras is formed by repeated patterns from our day to day actions. These repeated daily actions, habits, way of thinking, together with external factors like upbringing by parents, influences from society and culture, and situations we are born into all constitute what we store in our chakras.

chakra overall
Click here for a short guided Chakra Meditation


These stored data in turn affect our physical, emotional, mental and spiritual health. Thus, when one is said to be “stuck” in a chakra, this means that someone may have an underdeveloped or overemphasized chakra This creates imbalance in our body which may result in physical or emotional complications.

For most of us, one or more of our chakras is usually out of balance. We aim to bring the energies of the chakras into balance by clearing old blockages and heal old wounds. Through this process, we hope to bring our life back into a state of harmony. To find out which of your chakras is out of balance, check out this online quiz: Chakra Quiz. I have also included a short Chakra meditation clip. This short guided meditation (click on the picture above) is pretty useful to calm your mind after a busy day, preparing your mind and body for a good night rest.

Our 7 Chakras. Click on each chakra to know more about the chakra.

Crown chakra symbol
Top Chakra
Three eye chakra
Third Eye Chakra
Throat Chakra Symbol
Throat Chakra
Heart Chakra symbol
Heart Chakra
solar plexus chakra symbol
Solar Plexus Chakra
sacral chakra symbol
Sacral Chakra
root chakra symbol
Root Chakra

Author: Blue Hanuman

A Physicist | A Yogi | An educator | An Oiler | A wellness Enthusiast

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: